sublimity of consciousness

…I no more wrote than read that book which is
The self I am, half-hidden as it is
From one and all who see within a kiss
The lounging formless blackness of an abyss.

How could I think the brief years were enough
To prove the reality of endless love?

In case you’re interested, here is a good interview on the nature of consciousness which focuses on a number of the terms we’ve discussed in class, like music, dance, rhythm, anonymity, interdependence, forced choice and depression.  They quote the poem above, and reminded me of the poem below:

Fermata

One of me stuttered and one
of me broke, and one of me tried

to fasten a line to one of
me untying it from me.

One of me watched a fisherman haul
a sand shark from the breaker,

while another was already years later,
returned to where a local man

baited for striper but landed a shark.
One of me sat under olivine clouds,

clouds of cerise, a courtesan sky,
and one of me sunned himself

as a child, imagining a fish-rod
turned fermata. One waved a sash

of cornflower blue, one heard
a windmill, one heard the wind,

one waved goodbye to an imminent
leftover love. And one strolled

barefoot and sunburnt across
the nickel inhibitions of afternoon,

tossing amber bottles at a smoke tree,
the gun lake, swimming toward

his family on the dock as twilight fell,
as the same boy stayed behind

to look at him swim. One believed
a father could be killed by falling rock,

and one woke up to find he’d only
dreamt, although his father was dead,

and one believed in a beautiful house
not built by any hand. One promised

nothing would break, and nothing did,
and one saw breaking everywhere

and could not say what he saw.

ANDREW ZAWACKI

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

