a nice brief video-synopsis of the famous antonioni movie which reminded me of our class:

l’avventura

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to

  1. THIS video reminds me of our class 😉

  2. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    Oops–here’s the link

    • Arin Vaillancourt says:

      OH MY GOD. yes. I agree completely. It’s like Woody Allen sat in on our class and decided to make a movie out of it.

      “If the quantity drops below once every eight months I would definitely look into it”…. BAHAHAHAHAHA.

  3. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    “To love is to suffer; not to love is to suffer; to suffer is to suffer…”

  4. Tina says:

    LOLOLOL! so true!

    OMG after watching that clip I literally ran out to borrow Love & Death and I absolutely ADORED it! Woody Allen is genius.

    My turn now. I have visions of this floating in my mind whenever we’re discussing P&P:

    🙂

  5. Arin Vaillancourt says:

    Imagining Colin Firth semi-nude gets me through life.

    Also, circular logic/paradoxical nonsense that makes only confuses everyone? Woody Allen must know about Zizek. It just has to be true.

  6. Alyzee Lakhani says:

    Rhiannon, I’m putting love and death on my must-rent list. Thanks

    Arin, I’m so with you on the Colin Firth thing.

  7. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    It’s a pretty awesome film. I found more clips from it that reminded me of conversations we’d had in class too. I should try to post them. Have you read any of those Russian novels? I can’t claim that I have but it sounds like they were modernist to the core eh?

    Arin– hahah!!! Ahem, yes even us married ladies can’t help admitting that Mr.Firth DOES manage to look good in those awful Regency-style drop-front trousers–against the odds. Have you seen the newer P&P film? I haven’t, but I saw a clip that didn’t impress me too much. Though I’ll admit, much as I love the BBC version, I thought Jennifer Elhe wasn’t a great Elizabeth. Having said that the DVD is definitely on my shelf and I’d be up for a little movie get together if anyone was interested…

  8. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    Here we go– some more fun stuff…

    • Arin Vaillancourt says:

      I wonder if Dr. Earle watched this movie and said to himself “I’m going to make an entire seminar like this, and no one will ever suspect that my inspiration is from a Woody Allen film!!”

      I have something along those lines happened, either that or someone is our class is masquerading as student, who is in fact Woody Allen.

  9. Tina says:

    always good to know I’m not alone in my obsession over Darcy/ Colin firth. :p

    The newest hollywoodized P&P is god-awful, in my humble opinion. Do yourself a favour and never look at it. I liked the BBC version very much. Obvious reasons aside (collin firth in a wet shirt…), I thought that Ehle really nailed the role of Elizabeth on the head. She’s not much of a ravishing beauty (i.e. Kiera Knightley) but her lines are always delivered with great wit and intelligence. Plus her eyes can actually sparkle!! I thought that Kiera overdid the shaggy-haired-beauty/nature-lover bit too much.

    I’d love to have a movie date soon! But I wanna watch another Allen classic – still hooked, unfortunately. That guy’s like a drug. 🙂

    • Arin Vaillancourt says:

      Totally agree with Tina, the newer version of P&P is terrible. I wanted to break something after watching it. I don’t think Kiera Knightly could compare to Jennifer Ehle though, I thought Ehle gave me a more complete sense of who Elizabeth really is, even though it will never really match how I envision her to be in my head. That said I also think Ehle is far prettier than Knightly because Knightly is a toothpick and I personally don’t consider twigs to be very pretty. We should totally have a movie night sometime! I once sat in my room and watched the entire movie from start to finish and ate an entire cake. Good times. Yay! If we had a movie day (which Tina, I too think it should include some Woody Allen) I would bust out my culinary skills and make some food for us too! 😀 Tres exciting.

  10. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    Well I loved the BBC P&P and Ehle was ok but it bugged me the way she sounded exasperated for half the movie. She wasn’t the best actress I thought. I’m really picky though. And Knightly isn’t any better.

    Woody Allen movie-night sounds fun! I can get a lot of those rent-free too because my Dad’s an addict. I’m trying to remember my favourites– “Play It Again Sam” is classic…

Leave a Reply

