Zizek: The Reality of the Virtual

Not required, but if you’re interested this video (broken into five parts) is a good discussion of reification in terms of “real abstraction” or real virtuality, and also of the interrelation of the symbolic, imaginary and real, with lots of helpful examples:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zizek: The Reality of the Virtual

  1. Arin Vaillancourt says:

    Oh my god. He has a speech impediment.

  2. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    Hahaha!! I’m glad you said it first!!

    • Arin Vaillancourt says:

      I couldn’t get past the first 30 seconds without gaping and then wanting to pee my pants laughing. I think it is the sweetest irony that someone who has such intelligent things to say can never be taken seriously when they speak.

  3. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    Really? He seems just as incomprehensible on paper to me. Why every third word set has to be hyphenated I don’t know, but then again, I’m not the brightest crayon either 😉

  4. In his defense, Zizek talks about this in his documentary, and also about the fact that he usually makes jokes in his speeches:

    “I admit it, there is a clownish aspect to me.. like they put it in New York Times or whatever… all that, I maybe flirt with it. But none the less I’m getting tired of it because I noticed a kind of terrible urge, compulsion to make me appear as kind of a funny man and so on: and the true question would be “where does this urge come from?” “Why is there this necessity to portray me as somebody who can only thrive through jokes and so on?” … much more than may appear is going on here. It’s quite a complex phenomenon. I’m almost tempted to say that making me popular is a resistance against taking me seriously. And I think it’s my duty for this reason to do a kind of public suicide of myself, as a popular comedian.” – Zizek

    So, what may appear as a speech impediment may be in fact, his resistance to people making him “popular”… or at least, something done on purpose.

    • Arin Vaillancourt says:

      I’m just impressed you made it that far. I hereby recognize you as having better morals than me. Lol.

  5. Rhiannon Gascoigne says:

    Actually I think he just has an impenetrable accent which isn’t his fault at all, so maybe we’re being a bit naughty…

    Mind you, I find it interesting that he is so particularly determined have people to react to his character in a particular way– that he is so very concerned with people taking him seriously.

Leave a Reply

